Johnson is new board member

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

After the April municipal election, the Portageville School Board met the following week at their regular monthly session and installed Patty Johnson as their newest board member. She replaces Marie Gill. Also being sworn into their respective seats are Micah Rone and Jarrett Warren.

Next, the board was reorganized. In a 5-0-1 vote the school board nominated and elected Mark Moody as the president of the board. Micha Rone is vice president, Jarred Warren is secretary, Ronnie G. Adams is treasurer. Per board policy the treasurer will have a signature on all the district's bank accounts.

Additionally, Math and Science Club students Grace Watson, Emma Redd, Makenzie Durden and Hannah Chamberlain gave a presentation to the board on the Stem Program they went to at Washington University in St. Louis.

Stephanie Dennison reported to the board that there was a cash balance of $2,655,196.53 and a fund balance of $2,657,765.38. The board motioned and approved her report.

In the March meeting, the board approved the resignation of Tonya Wilson.