No local races set for New Madrid County offices; Judge Copeland to retire end of term

Thursday, June 14, 2018

NEW MADRID - Area residents will begin to see candidate signs, cards and placards in the ears and in your P.O. Box asking for your vote in the upcoming August Primary Election. Winners of the primary election will move on to the Nov. 6 general election.

Filing at the county level, are those seeking to be presiding commissioner, prosecutor, associate circuit judges, county and circuit court clerks, recorder of deeds, treasurer and collector.

New Madrid County

The incumbents put their names on the list in bids for re-election in New Madrid County.

Candidates who have filed thus far are: Presiding Commissioner Mark Baker, Treasurer Steve Riley, County Clerk Clement Cravens, County Collector Dewayne Nowlin, Prosecuting Attorney Andrew Lawson, Clerk of the Circuit Court Marsha Meatte Holiman, Recorder of Deeds Kim St. Mary Hall and Associate Circuit Judge Joshua Underwood. All filed as Democrats incumbents.

State races will be held for U.S. Senate, eight U.S. representatives, state auditor, 17 even numbered state senate districts, 163 state representatives and various judges.

With the retirement of 34th District Judge Fred Copeland, there will be a race in November between Daniel Commacchione Sr. of Caruthersville, Republican, and Edward Reeves of Caruthersville, Democrat, to fill the spot.

There is a primary race for judge of the 33rd Circuit. Filing as Democrats were Rebecca A. Reed of Scott City and incumbent David A. Dolan of Sikeston.

Robert (Rob) Mayer of Dexter filed for re-election as judge for Circuit 35. He filed as a Republican.

District 149 State Representative: Don Rone of Portageville, Republican; Bill Burlison of Wardell, Democratic;

District 151 State Representative: Herman Morse of Dexter, Republican; Rick Vandeven of Chaffee, Libertarian;

No filings were listed for the 148th District, which is currently represented by Republican Holly Rehder.

U.S. Senate: Tony Monetti of Warrensburg, Austin Petersen of Peculiar, Josh Hawley of Columbia, Fred Ryman of Jefferson City, Christina Smith of Jefferson City, Kristi Nichols of Independence, Bradley Krembs of St. Charles and Ken Patterson of Eureka, Republican; Carla (Coffee) Wright of St. Louis, Angelica Earl of St. Louis, Leonard Joseph Steinman II of Jefferson City, John Hogan of St. Charles, Democratic. (The seat currently is filled by Sen. Claire McCaskill.)

Eighth District U.S. Representative: Kathy Ellis of Festus, Democratic; and Jonathan L. Shell of Fredericktown, Libertarian. (Currently serving as Eighth District representative is Jason Smith)

County, judicial and state senate races carry four-year terms. U.S. and state representative contests are for two-year terms.